View Mobile Order | View Tablet Order

Tickets are now available for the 13th annual Golden Heart Volunteer Celebration to be held on Thursday evening, April 23 at Stone Harbor Resort in Sturgeon Bay. Billed as the “feel good event of the year”, this event honors outstanding volunteers in our community, recognizes the importance of the organizations through which they work and supports the Volunteer Center’s programming.

Nominations are reviewed by an independent panel of judges representing different areas in our community. We are proud to announce the 2015 Golden Heart Honorees:

Adult Volunteer of the Year:
Bob Agnew, United Way
Christine Andersen, Neighbor-to-Neighbor
Ashley DeGrave, Girl Scouts of the Northwestern Great Lakes
Katie Faulkner, Bargains Unlimited
Tonya Felhofer, Door County YMCA
Kevin Grohskopf
Ann Hickey, Boys & Girls Club of Door County
Barb Schaefer, Door-Tran
Jan Welborn, We Are HOPE

Arts & Culture Volunteer of the Year, presented by Thrivent Financial, Grace Rossman, CFP
Dan Austad, Door County Maritime Museum
Jim and Jean Berkenstock, Midsummer’s Music Festival
Kerstin Conner, Door Shakespeare
Lou and Daniele Covotsos, Door County Auditorium
Charli Lundstedt, Northern Sky Theater

Environmental Stewardship Volunteer of the Year, presented by Wisconsin Public Service Foundation
Friends of Peninsula State Park
John Hippensteel, Crossroads at Big Creek

Group Volunteers of the Year
AARP Tax Volunteers
The Haunted Mansion—Cory Vandertie, Judy Jesse, Sue Marchant
The Husbands of the Sturgeon Bay Visitor Center—Dean Paschke, Kelton Reitz, James Simonar
Ministry Door County Medical Center Skilled Nursing Facility Beauty Shop Volunteers

Lifetime of Service Volunteer, presented by Ministry Door County Medical Center
Tim Ash
Pat Horvath, Door County Habitat for Humanity
Judy Jesse
Elfriede Leporte, Boys & Girls Club of Door County

Three high school seniors will also be recognized for the Golden Heart Youth Scholarship Awards. Each youth recipient will receive a $500 academic scholarship.

During the celebration, each honoree will be individually recognized and presented with a nomination gift designed by Tara Nikko Rossman. The five award recipients will receive a custom designed art piece by Plum Bottom Pottery plus $500 to designate to a Door County charity of their choice.

Bret Bicoy, President and CEO of Door County Community Foundation, will keynote this year’s event, addressing how giving of one’s self is central to building a stronger Door County and a happier life. Nick Freimuth, local news and sports reporter, will serve as this year’s Master of Ceremonies.

The Volunteer Center of Door County is pleased to present this event with the support of our Title Sponsor, Ministry Door County Medical Center, as well as our major sponsors, Thrivent Financial for Lutherans, Wisconsin Public Service Foundation and Baylake Bank.

Please join us on Thursday, April 23rd for this inspiring evening. Tickets for the event are $35 each and available only in advance through the Volunteer Center at (920)746-7704.

2014 Golden Heart Recipients
2014 Golden Heart Recipients. Photo by Jason Mann Photography



920 - 746 - 7704
Volunteer Center Door County

©2017 Phone:920.746.7704 | volunteercenter@doorcounty.com