Past Golden Heart Recipients and Agency Beneficiaries

Since 2003, over 400 individuals and/or groups have been recognized as Golden Heart Volunteer Nominees. Through these nominations, 80 individuals or organizations have received Golden Heart Awards and over 50 Door County Agencies have been the beneficiaries of the corresponding cash awards. $50,000 has been awarded to non-profit agencies throughout Door County in addition to $9,000 academic scholarships.

Adult Award Recipients and Agency Beneficiaries

2019: Tracie Bournoville, Corpus Christi Fellowship Committee

2018: Lori Vorpahl

2017: Sheila Petroni, Neighbor to Neighbor Volunteer Caregivers

2016: Stephen Kase, Legal Aid Society

2015: Bob Agnew, United Way of Door County

2014: Kris Husby-Nelson, Door CANcer, Inc

2013: Susan Johnson, Door-Tran

2012: Gina Wautier, Family Centers of Door County

2011: Imelda Delchambre, Community Clinic, Katie’s Fund MDCMH, MDCMC Dental Clinic

2010: Katherine Kay Graf, MDCMC Ministry Fund

2009: Lynn Zawojski, Door County Land Trust, Cana Island Lighthouse, Nature Conservancy of Door County and Door County Historical Museum

2008: Hervy Hodges, Family Centers of Door County

2007: Amy Lyn DeMeter, United Way, HELP of Door County

2006: Marion Melzer, DC Humane Society, Boys & Girls Club, DCMH Skilled Nursing Facility

2005: Grace Rossman, United Way

2005: JoAnne Penny, Volunteer Center

2004: Al Blevins, Boy Scouts

2003: Norma Uecker, Door CANcer, ACS Relay for Life


Arts & Culture

2017: Bill Freyman, Door County Maritime Museum

2016: Sandy Stetler, Door County Renaissance Development Group

2015: Dan Austad, Door County Maritime Museum

2014: Dianne Treshcard, Peninsula Music Festival

2013: Jon & Leslie Gast, Door County Maritime Museum & Door Community Auditorium

2012: Steve Graf, Isadoora Theatre Company & Third Avenue Playhouse

2011: Kaaren Northrop, Door Community Auditorium

2010: Ann Birnschein, Isadoora Theatre Company

2009: Gerry & Nan Krause, Door County Historical Society

2008: Lynn Berger, Isadoora Theatre Company



2019: Door County Habitat for Humanity Home Preservation Volunteers

2018: Door County Habitat for Humanity Construction Volunteers

2017: Door County Medical Center Auxiliary Members

2016: Radiation Ralliers, Door-Tran

2015: The Haunted Mansion, Big Brother Big Sisters

2014: Door-Tran Volunteer Transportation Drivers

2013: Bargains Unlimited, Scand Auxiliary 90+ Ladies, Pat Loomis, Lois Rice & Lucille Sohns, Same

2012: Leadership Door County, LDC

2011: Altrusa of Door County, Altrusa

2010: Chuck Wagner & Don Ziegelbauer, Habitat for Humanity

2009: Mike & Carol Toneys, Door CANcer, Family Centers

2008: Mary Lou Norton & Barb Herdina, Door CANcer

2007: Door County Senior Center Meals on Wheels, Same

2006: Pete & Jeannie Sigmann, Community Clinic of Door County

2005: Volunteer Guardians, Same

2004: Unity Companion Sitter, Same



2019  Gretchen Mueller, Southern Door High School; Margaret Hartman, Sevastopol High School; Bria Caldecott, Gibraltar High School

2018: Olivia James Van Den Heuvel, Southern Door High School

2017: Kayla Marchant, Southern Door High School; Paige Sullivan, Sturgeon Bay High School; Julia DeMain, Sevastopol High School

2016: Zeb Kiehlar, Southern Door; Katie Mitoraj, Sturgeon Bay; Audrey Sitte, Gibraltar, each $500 Academic Scholarships

2015: Alyssa Dantoin, Southern Door; Sarah Felhofer, Sturgeon Bay; Samantha Spohn, Sevastopol, each $500 Academic Scholarships

2014 Josie Kielar, Southern Door; Samantha Moeller, Sturgeon Bay; Kylie Straug, Gibraltar, each $500 Academic Scholarships

2013: Samantha Paider, Southern Door, Ali Sommerfeldt, Sturgeon Bay, Sarah Waldron, Washington Island, each $500 Academic Scholarships

2012: Matthias Olson, $500 Academic Scholarship

2011: Mary Georges, $500 Academic Scholarship

2010: Rachel Hale, $500 Academic Scholarship

2009: Brianna George, HELP of DoorCounty

2008: Annika Paulsen, Door CANcer, DC Humane Society

2007: Molly Kase, DC Humane Society

2006: Valerie Gray, FamilyCenters of DC, Northern Door, SturgeonBay Breakfast Rotary Charitable Trust

2005: Michael Johnson, Neighbor to Neighbor, Youth Coalition

2004: Dominic Petroni, Peninsula Youth Soccer

2004: Brandon Schopf (Young Adult), Ss. Peter & PaulSchool

2003: Darin Ploor, Ss. Peter & PaulSchool


Karl May Lifetime of Service Volunteer of the Year

2019: Julie LaLuzerne, Wisconsin Humane Society/Door County Campus Dog Therapy Program

2018: Shirley Senarighi

Lifetime of Service

2017: Nancy Hutchinson

2016: Scott Weborg

2015: Pat Horvath, Door County Habitat for Humanity

2014: Inge Bacon

2013: Dave Pape, Sturgeon Bay Kiwanis, Kiwanis, Boys & Girls Club, Neighbor-to-Neighbor Volunteer Caregivers

2012: Gloria Dernbach, Neighbor-to-Neighbor Volunteer Caregivers

2011: George Husby, Sturgeon Bay City Parks Department

2010: Marjory Allingham, SturgeonBayMoravianChurch, Open Door Tai Kwon Do

2009: Dan Bayevich, YMCA

2008: Don Heeringa, HELP of DoorCounty

2007: Jerry Babel, Habitat for Humanity

2006: Thomas Pinney, Jr., Habitat for Humanity

2005: Mary Ann Zjala, Open Door Dental

2004: JoAnne Thomas, Alzheimer’s Memory Walk, ScandiaVillage Good Samaritan

2003: John Davies, Unity Hospice

Volunteer Leader

2009: Marjorie Grutzmacher, FamilyCenters

2008: Diane Knutson, American Red Cross Lakeland Chapter

2007: Kathy Sanden, American Red Cross

2006: George Evenson, Crossroads at Big Creek, DC Historical Society



2003: Nancy Shrank, St. Peter’s Lutheran School, American Cancer Society


Environmental Stewardship

2019: Anne Egan, Celebrate Water Door County

2018: Gretchen Recupero Schmelzer, Crossroads of Big Creek

2017: Jane Whitney, Bjorklunden

2016: Heritage Gardeners, Crossroads at Big Creek

2015: John Hippensteel, Crossroads at Big Creek, HELP of Door County, Kimberly House

2014: Habitat ReStore Recycling Volunteers, Door County Habitat for Humanity


920 - 746 - 7704
Volunteer Center Door County

©2017 Phone:920.746.7704 | volunteercenter@doorcounty.com